The Super Eagles’ squad numbers have been announced ahead of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Ivory Coast.

Complete Sports reports that the list includes familiar faces retaining their numbers and new additions taking on iconic shirts.

African best player Victor Osimhen will continue to wear his number 9 shirt, leading the team’s attack.

Meanwhile, Joe Aribo has been assigned Jay-Jay Okocha’s number 10 jersey, while captain Ahmed Musa will keep his number 7 shirt.

Super Eagles squad numbers for AFCON 2023
Super Eagles last won the AFCON in 2013, under coach Stephen Keshi of blessed memory – Getty image

Newcomer Alhassan Yusuf will don the number 4 jersey, previously worn by Wilfred Ndidi, whom he replaced in the squad due to injury.

Alex Iwobi has switched from number 18 to 17, and Samuel Chukwueze retains his number 11 shirt.

This year’s tournament marks Super Eagles’ 20th appearance and will go into it under the management of coach Jose Peseiro, who hopes to replicate Stephen Keshi’s achievement in 2013.

Nigeria is drawn in Group A alongside hosts Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau.

The squad numbers for the Super Eagles’ AFCON campaign are as follows:

  1. Francis Uzoho
  2. Ola Aina
  3. Zaidu Sanusi
  4. Alhassan Yusuf
  5. William Troost-Ekong
  6. Semi Ajayi
  7. Ahmed Musa
  8. Frank Onyeka
  9. Victor Osimhen
  10. Joe Aribo
  11. Samuel Chukwueze
  12. Bright Osayi-Samuel
  13. Bruno Onyemaechi
  14. Kelechi Iheanacho
  15. Moses Simon
  16. Ojo Olorunleke
  17. Alex Iwobi
  18. Ademola Lookman
  19. Umar Sadiq
  20. Chidozie Awaziem
  21. Calvin Bassey
  22. Kenneth Omeruo
  23. Stanley Nwabili
  24. Victor Boniface
  25. Raphael Onyedika



Leave a Reply